Steering Committee

Helga Nowotny (Chair): Professor emerita of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) and founding member of the European Research Council. In March 2010 she was elected President of the ERC.

Rūta Petrauskaitė (Vice Chair): Professor for linguistics at the School of Political Science and Diplomacy, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania. She is the Vice President of the Research Council of Lithuania, and the Chair of the Committee of Social Sciences and Humanities, and a member of the European Science Foundation’s Standing Committee for the Humanities.

Giedrius Viliūnas (Vice Chair): Currently Vice Rector for Studies at Mykolas Romeris University, Lithuania. Before, he headed the Department of Research Policy at the Research Council of Lithuania, and served as a secretary at the Ministry of Education and Science. He is member of several boards and commissions, such as the State Commission of the Lithuanian Language, and the Board of Governors of the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission.

Jutta Allmendinger: President of the Social Science Research Center, Berlin (WZB). Before, she was Professor at the Maximilian University of Munich. She published extensively on issues of the labour market.

Paul Boyle: Professor of Geography at the University of St Andrews on leave, he is currently Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) in UK, and also the President of Science Europe.

Craig Calhoun: Former Professor of Sociology at the New York University, founding director of NYU’s Institute for Public Knowledge, former President of the Social Science Research Council (SSRC) in the US. He is now appointed Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) in the UK.

Gustavo Cardoso: Professor of Media, Technology and Society at ISCTE – Lisbon University Institute, Portugal. Previously, he was adviser on Information Society and telecommunications policies to the Presidency of the Portuguese Republic.

Rivka Feldhay: Professor of History of Science and Ideas at Tel-Aviv University, she has been a fellow at several distinct humanities research centers in the world. For many years she has been a member of the board of advisors of The Max Planck Institute for History of Science in Berlin, and a member of the advising committee of The Humanities Center at the Central European University in Budapest. In September 2012, she organized a conference on “The Future of the Humanities”.

Poul Holm: Trinity Long Room Hub Professor of Humanities at Trinity College Dublin and President of the European Consortium of Humanities Institutes and Centres. Previously, he has been Rector of the University of Roskilde, and chairman of the Danish Research Council for the Humanities. He is former President of the European Society for Environmental History. In 2009, he chaired the expert group that conducted the METRIS Report on “Emerging Trends in Socio-economic Sciences and Humanities in Europe”

Pavel Kabat: He is Director of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA). Previously, he held the Chair of the Earth System Science and Climate Change Group at Wageningen University and Research Centre in the Netherlands, where he was also Chair of the Board of the Wageningen Climate Centre, and Science Director and Council Chair of the Dutch National Climate Research Program. He has pioneered large-scale research on global change that has provided the foundation for a new generation of thinking in global change research.

Alain Peyraube: He is Directeur de recherches CNRS. His previous positions included Director of the Institute of East Asian Linguistics (CNRS and EHESS), Deputy Director of the “Division of Humanities and Social Sciences” of the CNRS, and Director of the “Division of Humanities and Social Sciences” at the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research. Among other titles, he is Adjunct Professor at the University of Science and Technology of Hong Kong, Honorary Professor at the University of Beijing, member of the Academia Europae, and is Founding Member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC).

Aura Reggiani: Professor of Economic Policy at the University of Bologna, Italy. She was a committee member of several international scientific institutions, and is currently President of Network for European Communications and Transport Activities Research (NECTAR). She is on the editorial boards of nine internationally recognized journals in her field.

Peter Tindemans: Graduate in theoretical physics, he switched to science policy and coordinated the first comprehensive Dutch Innovation Policy, later leading overall Research and Science Policy in the Netherlands. Involved in key European initiatives such as EUREKA (member High Level Group), COSINE for establishing the first pan-European data networking backbone (chair Policy Group) and global efforts such as the OECD Megascience Forum. He is now Secretary General of Euroscience.

Wim van den Doel: Professor of Contemporary History at Leiden University, he is currently Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, and main author of the 2012 LERU report on “Social Sciences and Humanities: Essential Fields for European Research and in Horizon 2020”.

Michel Wieviorka: Chair of the Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme, Paris, and Professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS). Previously, he was chair of the International Sociological Association (2006-2010), among many other commitments. He has published widely on violence, terrorism, racism, social movements and the theory of social change.

Björn Wittrock: University Professor at Uppsala University and Principal of the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS), Uppsala. He is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and of Academia Europaea, and has been a member of numerous panels and committees, such as the German Council of Science and Humanities (Wissenschaftsrat); Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (WIKO); Riksbankens Jubileumsfond (RJ); RFEIA (the French network of Institutes for Advanced Study); European University Institute (EUI).

Assistants to the Conference Steering Committee

Katja Mayer: Research Associate to Prof. Helga Nowotny.

Thomas König:  Scientific Associate to Prof. Helga Nowotny.

One thought on “Steering Committee

  1. Pingback: Funding research in Europe: New horizons for social sciences and humanities? | Europe of Knowledge

Comments are closed.